205 چیستان به زبان انگلیسی (قسمت اوّل)


205 چیستان به زبان انگلیسی (قسمت اوّل)

نسخه قابل چاپ

 

 

  •  برای دیدن پاسخ چیستان روی دکمه Show the answer کلیک کنید.

مجموعه ای ارزشمند از چیستان های انگلیسی

 

1 - If you have three oranges and you take away two, how many will you have?

Show the answer

 


2. It walks on four legs in the morning, two legs at noon and three legs in the evening.

What is it?

Show the answer


3. I am the beginning of the end, and the end of time and space. I am essential to creation

and I surround every place. What am I?

Show the answer

 


4. What always runs but never walks, often murmurs, never talks, has a bed but never sleeps

has a mouth but never eats?

Show the answer

 


5. I never was, am always to be. No one ever saw me, nor ever will. And yet I am the

confidence of all, To live and breath on this terrestrial ball. What am I?

Show the answer

 


6. At night they come without being fetched. By day they are lost without being stolen.

What are they?

Show the answer


7. There was a green house. Inside the green house there was a white house.

Inside the white house there was a red house. Inside the red house there were lots of babies.

What is it?

Show the answer


8. What is in seasons, seconds, centuries and minutes but not in decades, years or days?

Show the answer


9. Think of words ending in -GRY. Angry and hungry are two of them. There are only three

words in the English language. What is the third word? The word is something that

everyone uses every day. If you have listened carefully, I have already told you what it is.

Show the answer


10. The person who makes it, sells it. The person who buys it never uses it and the person

who uses it doesn't know they are. What is it?

Show the answer

 


11. The more you have of it, the less you see. What is it?

Show the answer


12. What has a head, a tail, is brown, and has no legs?

Show the answer


13. What English word has three consecutive double letters?

Show the answer


14. What's black when you get it, red when you use it, and white when you're all through with it?

Show the answer


15. You throw away the outside and cook the inside. Then you eat the outside and throw

away the inside. What did you eat?

Show the answer


16. I am always hungry,

 

I must always be fed,

The finger I touch,

Will soon turn red

Show the answer


17. Ripped from my mother's womb,

Beaten and burned,

I become a blood thirsty killer.

What am I?

Show the answer


18. I know a word of letters three. Add two, and fewer there will be

Show the answer


19. I give you a group of three. One is sitting down, and will never get up. The second eats as

much as is given to him, yet is always hungry. The third goes away and never returns.

Show the answer


20. I have four legs but no tail. Usually I am heard only at night. What am I?

Show the answer


21. Half-way up the hill, I see thee at last, lying beneath me with thy sounds and sights

-- A city in the twilight, dim and vast, with smoking roofs, soft bells, and gleaming lights.

Show the answer


22. When young, I am sweet in the sun.

 

When middle-aged, I make you gay.

 

When old, I am valued more than ever.

Show the answer


23. All about, but cannot be seen,

Can be captured, cannot be held,

No throat, but can be heard.

Show the answer


24. If you break me

I do not stop working,

If you touch me

I may be snared,

If you lose me

Nothing will matter.

Show the answer


25. Until I am measured

I am not known,

Yet how you miss me

When I have flown.

Show the answer


26. I drive men mad

For love of me,

Easily beaten,

Never free.

Show the answer


27. What insect does a blacksmith manufacture?

Show the answer


28. Lighter than what

I am made of,

More of me is hidden

Than is seen.

Show the answer


29. Each morning I appear

To lie at your feet,

All day I will follow

No matter how fast you run,

Yet I nearly perish

In the midday sun.

Show the answer


30. My life can be measured in hours,

I serve by being devoured.

Thin, I am quick

Fat, I am slow

Wind is my foe.

Show the answer


31. I am seen in the water

If seen in the sky,

I am in the rainbow,

A jay's feather,

And lapis lazuli.

Show the answer


32. Glittering points

That downward thrust,

Sparkling spears

That never rust.

Show the answer


33. You heard me before,

Yet you hear me again,

Then I die,

'Till you call me again.

Show the answer


34. Three lives have I.

Gentle enough to soothe the skin,

Light enough to caress the sky,

Hard enough to crack rocks.

Show the answer


35. At the sound of me, men may dream

Or stamp their feet

At the sound of me, women may laugh

Or sometimes weep

Show the answer


36. What does man love more than life

Fear more than death or mortal strife

What the poor have, the rich require,

and what contented men desire,

What the miser spends and the spendthrift saves

And all men carry to their graves?

Show the answer


37. I build up castles.

I tear down mountains.

I make some men blind,

I help others to see.

What am I?

Show the answer


38. Two in a corner,

1 in a room,

0 in a house, but 1 in a shelter. What am I?

Show the answer


39. Five hundred begins it, five hundred ends it,

Five in the middle is seen;

First of all figures, the first of all letters,

Take up their stations between.

Join all together, and then you will bring

Before you the name of an eminent king.

Show the answer


40. It cannot be seen, it weighs nothing, but when put into a barrel, it makes it lighter. What is it?

Show the answer


41. How far will a blind dog walk into a forest?

Show the answer


42. What happens when you throw a yellow rock into a purple stream?

Show the answer


43. What starts with a T, ends with a T, and has "T" in it?

Show the answer


44. As I went over London Bridge

I met my sister Jenny

I broke her neck and drank her blood

And left her standing empty

Show the answer


45. Whoever makes it, tells it not.

Whoever takes it, knows it not.

Whoever knows it, wants it not

Show the answer


46. I am, in truth, a yellow fork

From tables in the sky

By inadvertent fingers dropped

The awful cutlery.

Of mansions never quite disclosed

And never quite concealed

The apparatus of the dark

To ignorance revealed.

-- Emily Dickenson

Show the answer


47. You saw me where I never was and where I could not be. And yet within that very place

my face you often see. What am I?

Show the answer


48. I turn polar bears white

and I will make you cry.

I make guys have to pee

and girls comb their hair.

I make celebrities look stupid

and normal people look like celebrities.

I turn pancakes brown

and make your champagne bubble.

If you squeeze me, I'll pop.

If you look at me, you'll pop.

Can you guess the riddle?

Show the answer


49. Say my name and I disappear. What am I?

Show the answer


50. What is it that after you take away the whole, some still remains?

Show the answer


51. A box without hinges, lock or key, yet golden treasure lies within. What is it?

Show the answer


52. Forward I'm heavy, but backwards I'm not. What am I?

Show the answer

 


53. Why doesn't a mountain covered with snow catch cold?

Show the answer

 


54. I can be long, or I can be short.

I can be grown, and I can be bought.

I can be painted, or left bare.

I can be round, or square.

What am I?

Show the answer

 


55. One by one we fall from heaven

down into the depths of past

And our world is ever upturned

so that yet some time we'll last

Show the answer

 


56. I drift forever with the current

down these long canals they've made

Tame, yet wild, I run elusive

Multitasking to your aid.

Before I came, the world was darker

Colder, sometimes, rougher, true

But though I might make living easy,

I'm good at killing people too.

Show the answer

 


57. Reaching stiffly for the sky,

I bare my fingers when it's cold

In warmth I wear an emerald glove

And in between I dress in gold

Show the answer

 


58. Kings and queens may cling to power

and the jester's got his call

But, as you may all discover,

the common one outranks them all

Show the answer

 


59. Every dawn begins with me

At dusk I'll be the first you see

And daybreak couldn't come without

What midday centers all about

Daises grow from me, I'm told

And when I come, I end all cold

But in the sun I won't be found

Yet still, each day I'll be around

Show the answer

 


60. Kings and lords and christians raised them

Since they stand for higher powers

Yet few of them would stand, I'm certain,

if women ruled this world of ours

Show the answer

 


61. Soft and fragile is my skin

I get my growth in mud

I'm dangerous as much as pretty

For if not careful, I draw blood.

Show the answer

 


62. Three brothers share a family sport:

A non-stop marathon

The oldest one is fat and short

And trudges slowly on

The middle brother's tall and slim

And keeps a steady pace

The youngest runs just like the wind,

A-speeding through the race

"He's young in years, we let him run,"

The other brothers say

"'Cause though he's surely number one,

He's second, in a way."

Show the answer

 


63. It's true I bring serenity,

And hang around the stars

But yet I live in misery;

You'll find me behind bars

With thieves and villains I consort

In prison I'll be found

But I would never go to court,

Unless there's more than one

Show the answer

 


64. I am a box that holds keys without locks, yet they can unlock your soul. What am I?

Show the answer

 


65. There once was a strange man who loved wordplay, he had a very important and successful

business that would take insect shipments from all across the world and distribute them to zoos

across the US.

What was the name of his company?

Show the answer

 


66. There is one word that stands the test of time and holds fast to the center of everything.

Though everyone will try at least once in their life to move around this word, but in fact,

unknowingly, they use it every moment of the day. Young or old, awake or in sleep,

human or animal, this word stands fast. It belongs to everyone, to all living things, but

no one can master it. The word is?

Show the answer

 


67. My days are in the summer

 

When you'll eat me when I'm hot

In fact I'll even eat myself

Where battles tough are fought

 

But when you find me in a fight

 

'Twill be high in the sky

 

And if you catch me napping

 

I suggest you let me lie

 

When you're bad come to my house

 

From Ma get thoughts profound

 

Am I big or am I small?

 

Some say I'm just a pound.

Show the answer

 


68. My first is twice in apple but not once in tart. My second is in liver but not in heart. My third is

in giant and also in ghost. Whole I'm best when I am roast. What am I?

Show the answer

 


69. What gets wetter as it dries?

Show the answer

 


70. This is a most unusual paragraph. How quickly can you find out what is so unusual about it?

It looks so ordinary you'd think nothing was wrong with it - and in fact, nothing is wrong with it.

It is unusual though. Why? Study it, think about it, and you may find out. Try to do it without coaching. If you work at it for a bit it will dawn on you. So jump to it and try your skill at figuring

it out. Good luck - don't blow your cool!

Show the answer

 


71. When you went into the woods you got me.

 

You hated me yet you wanted to find me.

 

You went home with me cause you couldn't find me

What was it?

Show the answer

 


72. An iron horse with a flaxen tail.

 

The faster the horse runs,

 

the shorter his tail becomes.

What is it?

Show the answer

 


73. You have to travel far before you turn it over. What is it?

Show the answer

 


74. A mile from end to end, yet as close to as a friend. A precious commodity, freely given. Seen

on the dead and on the living. Found on the rich, poor, short and tall, but shared among

children most of all. What is it?

Show the answer

 


75. I'm full of holes, yet I'm full of water. What am I?

Show the answer

 


76. Four of us are in your field

But our differences keep us at yield

First, a one that is no fool

Though he resembles a gardener's tool

Next, one difficult to split in two

And a girl once had one as big as her shoe

Then, to the mind, one's a lovely bonder

And truancy makes it grow fonder

Last, a stem connecting dots of three

Knowing all this, what are we?

Show the answer

 


77. I am a word of meanings three.

Three ways of spelling me there be.

The first is an odour, a smell if you will.

The second some money, but not in a bill.

The third is past tense, a method of passing things on or around.

Can you tell me now, what these words are, that have the same sound?

Show the answer

 


78. It's red, blue, purple and green, no one can reach it, not even the queen. What is it?

Show the answer

 


79. What question can you never honestly answer yes to?

Show the answer

 


80. What has a neck and no head, two arms but no hands?

Show the answer

 


81. I live in water

If you cut my head I'm at your door,

If you cut my tail I'm fruit,

If you cut both I'm with you

What am I?

Show the answer

 


82. Feed me and I live, give me drink and I die. What am I?

Show the answer

 


83. What begins and has no end? What is the ending of all that begins?

Show the answer

 


84. A man went to the hardware store to buy items for his house.

1 would cost $.25

12 would cost $.50

122 would cost $.75

When he left the store he had spent $.75, what did he buy?

Show the answer

 


85. What makes a loud noise when changing its jacket, becomes larger but weighs less?

Show the answer

 


86. The more you take, the more you leave behind.

Show the answer

 


87. I am a word of 5 letters and people eat me. If you remove the first letter I become a form of

energy. Remove the first two and I'm needed to live. Scramble the last 3 and you can drink me.

What am I?

Show the answer

 


88. Before any changes I'm a garlic or spice. My first is altered and I'm a hand-warming device.

My second is changed and I'm trees in full bloom. The next letter change makes a deathly

old tomb. Change the fourth to make a fruit of the vine. Change the last for a chart plotted

with lines. What was I? What did I become? What did I turn out to be?

Show the answer

 


89. A woman shoots her husband, then holds him under water for five minutes. Finally,

she hangs him. Five minutes later they enjoy a wonderful dinner together. How can this be?

Show the answer

 


90. Remove six letters from this sequence to reveal a familiar English word. BSAINXLEATNTEARS

Show the answer

 


91. Alive without breath,

As cold as death,

Clad in mail never clinking,

Never thirsty, ever drinking

Show the answer

 

 


92. I can always go up, never down,

I can always turn left, never right,

I am always hot when I'm cold

Show the answer

 


93. A cowboy rides into town on Friday, stays for three days and leaves on Friday.

How did he do it?

Show the answer

 


94. What has roots that nobody sees,

Is taller than trees,

Up, up it goes,

Yet it never grows?

Show the answer

 


95. This thing all things devours,

Birds, beasts, trees, and flowers.

Gnaws iron bites steel,

Grinds hard stones to meal,

Slays king, ruins town,

And beats high mountain down

Show the answer

 


96. It cannot be seen, it cannot be felt,

Cannot be heard, cannot be smelt,

Lies behind stars and under hills,

And empty holes it fills.

Comes first follows after,

Ends life kills laughter.

Show the answer

 


97. An eye in a blue face

Saw an eye in a green face.

'That eye is like this eye'

Said the first eye,

But in a low, not high place.

Show the answer

 


98. I'm lighter than air but a million men can't lift me. What am I?

Show the answer

 


99. A man is born in 1946 and dies in 1947, yet he was 86 years old. How is that possible?

Show the answer

 


100. I go in hard.

I come out soft.

You blow me hard.

What am I?

Show the answer

 


101. Two words is my answer. In order to keep me, you have to give me. What am I?

Show the answer


نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد