اصطلاحات انگلیسی با ترجمه 2


Idioms

 

Not Hold Water

بی معنی بودن. غیر منطقی بودن. به عقل جور در نیامدن

The Kiss Of Death

 فاتحه چیزی را خواندن

Get The Hang Of Something

قلق چیزی را به دست آوردن. راه کاری را یاد گرفتن

Raise A Stink

الم شنگه به پا کردن. قشقرق راه انداختن

Get Off Someone's Back

دست از سر کسی برداشتن

Be Greek To One

قابل درک نبودن. سر در نیاوردن

Dressed To The Teeth

با سلیقه لباس پوشیدن

Not Have A Leg To Stand On

حتی یک دلیل خوب برای ادعا نداشتن

Out On A Limb

در موقعیت خطرناک قرار داشتن

Up One's Sleeve

آماده داشتن. زیر سر داشتن

Fork Over

سلفیدن. رد کردن (پول)

Eat One's Heart Out

حسودی کردن. دل کسی سوختن. غصه خوردن

Give Someone A Buzz

به کسی زنگ زدن. تلفن زدن

The Salt On The Earth

آدم های نازنین. آدمهای بی نظیر

IN THE SAME BOAT

همدرد بودن

I am broke, can you lend me a couple of bucks?Sorry I am at the same boat.

TWIST ONE'S ARM

مجبور کردن. تحت فشار قرار دادن

Daddy won't buy me the car unless I twist his arm.

IN ONE'S BOOK

به عقیده شخص

In my book, you are the most generous person in the world!

 

STRAIGHT FROM THE HORSE'S MOUTH

از منبع موثق. از دهان خود شخص شنیدن. دست اول


I have heard straight from the horse's mouth that he is gonna be the next president of the company.

JUMP DOWN SOMEONE'S THROAT

به کسی پریدن. از کسی به شدت عصبانی شدن

Why do you jump down my throat before you listen to what I have to say?

AT SIX AND SEVENS

سر در گم. هاج و واج. حیران و سرگردان

Henry was all at six and sevens since he lost his job.

GO FLY A KITE!

برو پی کارت! بزن به چاک!

Stop bothering meGo fly a kite!

TOOT ONE'S OWN HORN

لاف زدن. منم منم کردن. از خود تعریف کردن

Richard's always tooting his own horn. All he does is to talk about how good he is.

HANG IN THERE!

استقامت به خرج دادن. تاب آوردن. با اوضاع ساختن

I know things are pretty tough for me. If you hang in there things will come out ok.

HIT BELOW THE BELT

نامردی کردن. نارو زدن

I'll never do any business with Peter again. He really hits below the belt.

LET THE CAT OUT OF THE BAG

رازی از دهان کسی پریدن. پته کسی را روی آب انداختن

Nobody was supposed to tell him about the surprise party, but my sister let the cat out of the bag.

GET A KICK OUT OF SOMETHING

از چیزی کیف کردن. از چیزی حظ کردن

I always get a kick out of his jokes.

COUGH UP

سلفیدن. اخ کردن

Come on man! Cough up the money you owe me!

TALK SOMEONE'S EAR OFF

با پر حرفی سر کسی را بردن

My grandmother talks my ear off whenever I see her.

GO GREAT GUNS

حسابی رو به راه بودن. قبراق بودن

How's business Ted? It's going great guns!

ALL THUMBS

دست و پا چلفتی. ناشی

Let me do the dishes myself, you're all thumbs.

HAVE SOMEONE'S NUMBER

دست کسی را خواندن. از نیت کسی آگاه بودن

Joe has been so friendly to me recently. But I have his number. He just needs my money.

LIKE A BULL IN A CHINA SHOP

دست و پا چلفتی. بی ملاحظه. بی فکر. بی احتیاط

Each time you enter the room, you knock something down. You are really like a bull in a china shop!

THE FAT IS IN THE FIRE

دیگه کار از کار گذشته. دیگه نمیشه کاریش کرد. آب ریخته را نمیشه جمع کرد

The fat's in the fire! There's 10 thousand $ missing from office safe.

HIT THE ROAD

راه افتادن. عازم سفر شدن

It's getting really late. Let's hit the road

JUMP OUT OF ONE'S SKIN

از ترس زهره ترک شدن. از ترس قالب تهی کردن

You really scared me. I nearly jumped out of my skin!

KICK IN THE PANTS

ترغیب. تشویق

All he needs is a kick in the pants to get him going.

PAIN IN THE NECK

مایه دردسر. مایه عذاب. بلای جان

There's something wrong with my car almost everyday. It's really become a pain in the neck!

GET THE JUMP OF SOMEONE

پیش دستی کردن. روی دست کسی بلند شدن

No one has ever been able to get the jump on Margie in swimming.

OFF THE RECORD

غیر رسمی. محرمانه

The mayor emphasized that what he had said was off the record.

MAKE A MOUNTAIN OUT OF A MOLEHILL

از کاه کوه ساختن. چیزی را گنده کردن

Don't let such a trivial thing bother you so much. You're just making a mountain out of a molehill.

You are not in the picture

 تو باغ نیستی

book worm

 خر خوان

a kick on the back

اردنگی

He was discharged with a kick in the pants.

GET INTO HOT WATER

تو هچل افتادن. توی دردسر افتادن

I really get into hot water whenever I play hooky.

DOG-EAT-DOG

هر کی هر کی. ظالم بی رحم

It's pretty though to survive in this dog-eat-dog world.

GO COLD TURKEY

یک مرتبه عادتی را کنار گذاشتن. بی مقدمه اعتیاد را ترک کردن

The doctor believes in that if he opium addict had gone cold turkey, he might have not survived

SKELETON IN ONE'S CLOSET

راز شرم آور. نقطه ضعف

My father was once behind bars. That's our family's skeleton in the closet.

MONEY TALKS!

پول رو رو سنگ بذاری سنگ آب میشه! پول حلال مشکلاته!‌پول حرف اول رو می زنه!

ِDon't worry. I have a way of getting things done. Money talks!

MIND ONE'S P'S AND Q'S

مواظب رفتار و زبان خود بودن. مودب بودن

You must mind your p's and q's at the reception tonight.

Sake a leg

عجله کردن، جنبیدن

It's getting late. Come on, shake a leg!

GO (Be)  BANANAS

از شدت خوشحالی یا عصبانیت دیوانه شدن

The children will go bananas when you tell them that trip is cancelled.

GO INTO A NOSEDIVE

سریع افت کردن. مثل برق پایین آمدن. شدیدا تنزل کردن

Oil prices are going into a nosedive.

TAKE A RAIN CHECK

به وقت دیگری موکول کردن

I'm pretty busy on Friday, could I take a rain check on your invitation?

GET AWAY CLEAN

از مجازات فرار کردن

After robbing the bank, the robbers spent off in a waiting car and got away clean.

CATCH SOMEONE RED-HANDED

سر بزنگاه کسی را دستگیر کردن. مچ کسی را گرفتن

The hoodlums were tempering with the public phone when the police arrived and caught them red-handed.

CROSS MY HEART!

به جون خودم قسم می خورم!

I didn't break the glass. Cross my heart!

GET THE SHORT END OF THE STICK

کلاه سر کسی رفتن. به حق خود نرسیدن

Martin's very unhappy because he got the short end of the stick again.

BEAT ABOUT THE BUSH.

صغری کبری چیدن و طفره رفتن. حاشیه رفتن

Stop beating about the bush! Answer my question frankly!

HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD

تو خال زدن. به هدف زدن. درست حدس زدن

I guess we need a lot of money to carry out the plan. You're absolutely right. You've hit the nail right on the head!

LET SLEEPING DOGS LIE

پا روی دم سگ نگذاشتن. دنبال دردسر نگشتن. پا روی دم کسی نگذاشتن

Don't raise the issue again. It's almost forgotten. Let sleeping dogs lie.

DOG IN THE MANGER

آدم بخیل. ادم تنگ نظر

Kathryn never gives away anything she herself has no use for. She is such a dog in the manger.

WHEEL AND DEAL

ساخت و پاخت کردن. زد و بند کردن. گاوبندی کردن

You can't do any business in this town if you don't wheel and deal.

MONKEY BUSINESS

دوز و کلک. حقه بازی. مسخره بازی

Stop the monkey business. This is serious.

GO DOWN THE DRAIN

به هدر رفتن. بر باد رفتن. نقش برآب شدن

 All the money I invested in that damned business went down the drain.

GET UP ON THE WRONG SIDE OF THE BED

از دنده چپ بلند شدن. عبوس بودن

Why are you so grouchy today? Did you get up on the wrong side of the bed?

JUMP THE GUN

زودتر از وقت شروع کردن. قبل از موعد مقرر کاری را انجام دادن. عجله کردن

They were scheduled to be married in June, but they jumped the gun.

MAKE A SPLASH

کولاک کردن. معرکه کردن. غوغا کردن

She made quite a splash in literary with her first book.

GET ANTS IN ONE'S PANTS

بی قرار شدن. دلشوره گرفتن

I always get ants in my pants before a lecture.

GIVE SOMETHING ONE'S BEST SHOT

نهایت سعی خود را کردن

Do you think you can fix the washing machine? I'm not sure, but I'll give it mybest shot.

COOL ONE'S HEELS

زیاد معطل شدن. زیاد منتظر شدن

We arrived on time,but the lawyer let us cool our heels outside of his office forhours.

LEAD A DOG'S LIFE

با فلاکت زندگی کردن. زندگی رقت بار داشتن. زندگی سگی داشتن

I gotta get rich real soon. I'm quite tired of leading a dog's life.

GET ONE'S TICHET PUNCHED

شناسنامه کسی باطل شدن. مردن. کشته شدن

The poor man got his ticket punched while he was crossing the street!

DIFFERENT STROKES FOR DIFFERENT FOLKS

سلیقه ها مختلفه. هر کسی به چیزی علاقه داره

My husband likes watching T.V., but I like reading booksWell, different strokes for different folks.

MISS THE BOAT

دیر جنبیدن. فرصت را از دست دادن

 There were still some tickets available last week. You could have bought one, but you missed the boat.

GET THE AX

اخراج شدن. از کار بر کنار شدن


I got the ax two months ago. I have been able to find a new job yet.

GO TO BAT FOR SOMEONE

از کسی طرفداری کردن. از کسی جانبداری کردن

I expect you to go to bat for me whenever you hear anyone gossip about me.

 

نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد